

CAERPHILLY LOCAL ACCESS FORUM

APPOINTMENTS SUB-GROUP – 3RD OCTOBER 2008

MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD AT PENALLTA HOUSE, TREDOMEN ON FRIDAY, 3RD OCTOBER 2008 AT 10 A.M.

PRESENT:-

Councillor Ron Davies (Chair)

Councillors Lyn Ackerman, David Carter and Vera Jenkins

Norman Liversuch (Principal Planner and Secretary to the LAF) Phil Griffiths (Principal Planner and Asst. Secretary to the LAF)

Together with:

Sharon Kauczok (Committee Services Officer)

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence had been received from Councillor Michael Prew.

2. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE LOCAL ACCESS FORUM

The Sub-Group had been established to consider applications for membership to the new Local Access Forum (LAF).

Members and Officers agreed to treat the information received and considered at the meeting in relation to the candidates for appointment to the new Local Access Forum, as exempt information.

The Secretary to the Local Access Forum informed the Sub-Group that membership of the Forum can be between 12 and 22 members, including the Chair and Deputy. The Authority had received 18 applications/nominations for membership to the new Forum viz:-

- 8 from members of the last LAF.
- 4 new nominations by organisations.
- 6 applications from individuals.

The Sub-Group received details of all the above applications.

The Secretary advised that, in addition, he was still pursuing applications/nominations to represent Community Councils, wildlife trusts, cyclists, the less able and the youth sector. He asked the Sub-Group to consider reappointing those who had been members of the last

Forum and the 4 new nominations from organisations. If the Sub-Group agreed this suggestion then, in respect of the individual applicants, he asked the Sub-Group to consider what additional experience/skills the individuals could bring which were not already represented on the Forum.

Following full consideration of all the applications received, the Sub-Group AGREED to appoint the following candidates to the Local Access Forum:-

1) Applications from previous LAF Members

Keith Donovan Keith Green Alison Palmer Mike Johnson Lorraine Howells William Lindsay David Parry Robert Jones

2. <u>Nominations of new members from organisations</u>

Glyn Davies Andrew Edwards Sylvia Dolbear Maggie Thomas

3. <u>Applications from new individuals</u>

Elaine Gwynne Nigel Yates

If nominations from cycling clubs were not forthcoming, the Sub-Group agreed that Peter Brice should be appointed to the Forum in view of his long experience in cycling.

The Chair thanked everyone for their contribution to the meeting and closed the meeting at 10.30 a.m.